Australian Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum has been implemented progressively in South Australia schools since 2012.

East Para Primary School implements the Australian Curriculum which is presented as a progression of learning from Reception - Year 7.  The Australian Curriculum makes clear to teachers, parents, students and others in the wider community what is to be taught, and the quality of learning expected of young people as they progress through school.

The Australian Curriculum learning areas are

  • English

  • Mathematics

  • Science 

  • Humanities and Social Sciences

  • The Arts

  • Technologies

  • Health and Physical Education, and

  • Languages - Japanese

General Capabilities: Play a significant role in the Australian Curriculum in equipping young Australians to live and work successfully in the twenty-first century.

In the Australian Curriculum, capability encompasses knowledge, skills, behaviours and dispositions.  Students develop capability when they apply knowledge and skills confidently, effectively and appropriately in complex and changing circumstances, in their learning at school and in their lives outside school.